Happy New Year!!

It’s January, 2012. Which is kind of weird when I think about it. I remember being a little girl reading an article in Popular Science about what life would be like in the year 2000. Living on the moon riding around in hover crafts in a Jetson-like city.

Here is it, 2012. I’m not living on the moon, nor am I riding around in a hover craft. But I’m okay with that.

What I like about January.

First of all, it’s the month I was brought into this world. So that makes it pretty great, right? I know. *high five*

Second, it’s a month of new beginnings. A new year. The mark of a fresh start.

A fresh start for me means the following:

1. I am no longer a rollergirl.

I decided to hang up the skates so I could concentrate on other interests and obligations.

2. Gym rat status, full blast.

Now that I’m not playing roller derby any more, I am focusing my energy on training to be a cage fighter.

3. Time to get out the skizzors.

I’ve been growing out my hair for a while now and it’s finally at a length I like. But now I’m bored. So it’s time for a hair color change and I think some bangs.

4. Nutrition. Nutrition. Nutrition.

I’ve been a long time sufferer of IBS [Irritable Bowel Syndrome]. It’s a painful, uncomfortable nuisance in my life that I have learned to live with. My diet in the last few months has not been very IBS friendly and as I sit here typing, I’m nursing cramps and bloating.

This also leads me to my next blog goal. I am going to use this blog to document my fresh start with dieting and training.

To get me started I will be referencing The Abs Diet book to help me plan my meals. Something that is essential to my success is a structured eating plan. When left to my own devices, I’m AMAZING at justifying poor decisions. It’s a gift really.

So, I hope you’ll follow along as I work to restructure myself, inside and out. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

