An oldie but a goodie

It was finally time to do something with this mass of hair on my head. I’ve been growing it out forever and in an attempt to keep me from getting so bored I would take scissors to it, I installed dreadlocks. Which I LOVED.

Which I also realized was not MMA-friendly.

It wasn’t long after taking out the dreads that my fingers started itching for the scissors.

I have a lot of hair. And it’s thick. For some reason I was blessed with an abundance of hair follicles. I’ll never forget when I was in ¬†Thailand and my Uncle, who owned a salon, looked at my hair and said through his accent “You look like a lion” gesturing with his hands opened wide and above his head, ha ha!

So I started looking on the world wide web for some hair ideas. And lo and behold, my 8th year in school came back to haunt me. Shaved sides! I had no idea this trend had come into style.

When I was younger I used to spend every morning before school either soaking my head in a sink of Black Cherry Kool Aid or shaving the sides of my head.

My brother used to make fun of me for it. Which I think was the beginning of my “I don’t care what anyone thinks, I like it!” attitude when it comes to clothes and hair.

I think at the time, the only other kids with long hair and shaved sides were other skater boys, which at that time were not many.

For the last few years I’ve been aching for a mohawk hairstyle. So perhaps this is my ‘grown up’ compromise?

Anyway, I don’t care how popular this hair trend may be right now. I do what I want because it’s what I want. Not because of what’s in style. Because actually, most of what I like is never in style.

Regardless, whether I’m one of many or on my own, I just do me. And that, my friend, never goes out of style.

So here we are!

Leave a Reply

